In horrible situations, you know who your friends truly are

Last night I heard my dad groaning and hitting the floor from my bedroom.

At first I thought maybe my dad had gone to use the restroom since he wasn’t in the living room, so I checked on my mom. When she was sound asleep, I went back into the living room and noticed my dad convulsing on the floor. It was the most horrific thing I had ever witnessed. He was foaming at the mouth, his lips were purple and he was gasping for air. I ran to tell my mom to call 911, and I rushed to my father to lift him up so he wouldn’t choke on his saliva and made sure he could breathe. After awhile, the ambulance arrived and they took my dad to the hospital. In a desperate attempt to raise money, I put together a gofundme page and begged people to help me raise money or at least share the page so it would get more awareness (for those of you who aren’t familiar with me, my family has had horrible luck with health issues and financial anything).

My mother stayed with my dad at the hospital while I stayed home to inform everyone of what was going on.

While informing people throughout yesterday and today, I realized there are quite a bit of people that absolutely do not care. It hurts because I know that everyone that saw the news and didn’t care at all, I am ashamed of you. If something similar were to happen to you, I would do all that I could to help or at the very least be there for you. The fact that you do not care or even share the smallest of concerns towards people in need disgusts me.

Trying to put that anger aside (I have to aim my anger somewhere), I also realize that I’m am profoundly lucky.

It was at that point that I realized how lucky I am to have the friends and family that I was blessed with. To my friends and family that gave me support throughout all of this, I am incredibly grateful for you. I really wouldn’t be anything without the support and prayers that you have given me, not just through this situation, but through the many treacherous obstacles that I have faced in the past.  To my family and friends that have donated money, I am touched by your generosity. Even though you didn’t have to donate money, you did, and I tear up just thinking about how lucky I am to have you. I also wanted to say thank you to everyone that voiced concerns about my parents and myself. It is amazing to see just how much people care about you, I appreciate it. Also a big thanks to Casey for donating the prayer shawl to my father, I haven’t given it to him yet (since you literally just now gave it to me), but I know he will definitely appreciate this kind gesture. And thank you so much to those who shared my fundraising page, even though it is a small action, it is a great deal to me.

For the positive people in my life, I love all of you to death. I’m not just saying that either, you will always be able to count on me, just like I know I can count on you. You’re the best people that I know. Thank you for being there for me always.

Also, those that are interested in spreading the word or donating: http://www.gofundme.com/9o91rw

One thought on “In horrible situations, you know who your friends truly are

Leave a comment